The Lilac Tree

Lilacs grow in many areas of the country, but the salt water wash of Cape Cod seems to plump up their blooms, enhance their sweet perfume, and deepen the green of their heart-shaped leaves. Or maybe it seems that way because Spring on the Cape is slow to arrive, so the flowers are more appreciated.

Most lilacs grow as a shrub or a bush. But did you know there is a lilac tree? The tree species was brought to the U.S. from Europe and Asia in the 18th century. The tree can grow up to thirty feet high and wide enough for shade. It can live a hundred years.

I have never seen an old lilac tree, but I’m on a quest to find one.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on June 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Brenda and Laurel

    We love Cape Cod – so following this person’s blog will be fun. We look forward to more updates.

  2. I have always loved lilacs. When you find the tree let me know and I’ll maybe make a road trip to see it.

  3. Does a lilac bush or shrub grow into a lilac tree – or are they different? How beautiful that must be.

  4. I live in California and I love lilacs! Especially the smell of the blooms. I am trying to grow a lilac bush that likes the hot California sun. I will let you know how it goes. One thing is for sure, it wont smell as good as New England lilacs!

  5. There’s a new planting of a lilac tree on Main St. in one Cape town (April this year). I hope we all live long enough to see it match your beautiful description!

  6. I grew up in Vermont in the 40s and 50s with a fairly large, lovely lilac tree in our back yard. My father was told to bury rusty nails at the base to create a very deep purple color. It seemed to work although the plentiful rain that summer may have been a contributing factor. The tree was still there in 1993 when the house was sold . In August I will return to Vermont and I will be certain to see if that wonderful tree is still standing.

  7. I love lilacs. Growing up, we had a very large lilac tree in our yard and when I was little, I would cut some of the flowers off, put a pin through the small opening from the stem, push the pinned stem through a piece of paper and create a picture. The pictures weren’t great but they sure smelled great.

  8. Lilacs…..now there is a beautiful plant/tree. For some reason, I always recall my childhood days living in England with my parents who were Military. Our baby sitter would take us on strolls and it always seems that lilacs were the flower to pick and take home to Mom. The Cape sounds like someplace to visit again sooner than later.

Leave a Reply

