Cape Cod Writing Inspiration

Rose-of-Sharon in full bloom

I’m a “wash-ashore.” That is the term for people residing here who were not born on the Cape. I am lucky to live here the best six months of the year, in a 1948 Arts and Craft style cottage. It’s a small, cozy cottage, washed with natural light. I write in the studio, formerly a garage which was converted for an artist, so there is already a creative atmosphere in the room. I start my day soaking up inspiration from the view outside Livia’s porch. Right now, the rose-of-sharon tree is in full bloom. With my second cup of coffee, while Livia watches the birds, squirrels, and chipmunks, I begin my work day. I read articles about writing, scribble descriptions of the beautiful nature spread out before me to include in my novels, or edit work from the day before.

This is only one of the ways Cape Cod inspires my writing.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on July 30, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. You day dream in your studio while I walk the golf course. Your description of your morning is sometimes better than mine. Keep up the good work

  2. Brenda and Laurel

    Your place sounds so peaceful – most inspiring, we are sure, for a writer. We’ll look forward to read one of your books as we follow your writings.

  3. Sounds and feels like the perfect place to hunker down with a book and Cape Cod’s Mother Nature!

Leave a Reply

