Writer’s Heaven

Michelle Hoover

I spent last week in writer’s heaven, otherwise known as the Cape Cod Writers Center (CCWC). The Center was started by a small group of aspiring authors in 1963 at the Craigsville Conference Center. This year the CCWC is celebrating its 50th anniversary. For the first time, the conference moved from Craigsville to the Resort and Conference Center of Hyannis.

Though CCWC activities are held throughout the year, the annual conference is the Center’s signature event. I’ve met writers there from all around the country and one from Montreal.

I took two classes presented by Michelle Hoover: The Dreaded Beginning and Plotting the Novel. Michelle is a full-time writing instructor at Boston University, and teaches classes at Grub Street. She is an award-winning published author of short stories and a literary novel, The Quickening, published in June 2010. In her spare time, she is working on a second novel and teaching at the CCWC conference.

Michelle’s classes were the best I’ve attended at any conference. She was dynamic, funny, detailed, and patient. The course, Plotting the Novel, was appropriate for those only thinking about writing a novel, but also for those of us who were writing their fifth.

Writing is an active process of learning and practicing. I came away with the certainty that my writing ability was enhanced with the knowledge Michelle passed to us. I know she will return next year. As will I!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on August 13, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Love your joy and enthusiasm!

  2. Thanks for the post, Gerri! (And the picture too!). Good luck with your writing.

  3. You sure are working hard on all your research to get your work published. I know one of these days I’ll be spending a lot of time reading all your novels. Marian

  4. Brenda and Laurel

    Thank you for your interesting post. I enjoy scratching away at non-fiction pieces about my life, in a sort of memoir fashion. However, I find it extremely challenging and exasperating to put together sentences that convey the emotions. Although I remember bits and pieces of dialogue from long ago, I don’t know whether or how much I can improvise to enhance the story. Like you, the more I write the more I realize how much I have to learn, even though the words come easily.

    • Thanks for your comment and commiseration. There is so much to learn about the craft. But the joy and passion of writing make up for the steep learning curve! Write on!

      ________________________________

  5. Diane Ashbacher

    Sounds like you had a very productive day. I’m sure you can run circles around me with all that writing ability. I’m so proud of you.

Leave a Reply

