Sharing a Good Book

I’m still thinking about a book I read recently, The Sweetness of Forgetting, by Kristin Harmel. It had great reviews and since part of it takes place on Cape Cod, I wanted to read it.

The story is about Hope McKenna Smith, a woman trying to have a life after her divorce, dealing with her teenage daughter who blames her for the breakup of the marriage, her mother’s recent death, and her beloved grandmother’s Alzheimer’s. Hope is stuck running the family bakery, which is failing financially, instead of being an attorney as she had planned.

In a rare lucid period, her grandmother gives her a list of names and insists she find them in France. Her daughter’s interest spurs Hope to go to Paris where she discovers a secret her grandmother has protected for years, involving the Holocaust and an unfinished love story.

I don’t want to give any more away, but I will tell you, the book is peppered with mouth-watering recipes for the goods sold in the family bakery. Keep a snack and a pencil ready.

You can visit Kristin’s website at: www.kristinharmel.com.

I’m posting a few days early, no, it’s not Monday yet!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on September 6, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the tip. I am going to look for the book. Date: Thu, 6 Sep 2012 18:30:28 +0000 To: dandmjames@hotmail.com

  2. Brenda and Laurel

    Sounds like a wonderful story. I’ve been reading about Down East Maine in a thriller by Paul Doiron, titled “Bad Little Falls.” It takes place during Mud Season and the weather is as cold as we’ve been warm. So it’s fun to think of curling up by a fire now that autumn is nearly here.

    Still having challenges creating atmosphere for my narratives, so it’s great to read such good settings in Paul Doiron’s book.

  3. Sounds like a great book. I think I will look for it~thanks 🙂

  4. Always looking for a great book to read. I’m sorry to say I broke down and am reading Fifty Shades of Grey. Nothing about Cape Cod in that book Steeeaamy. Stay cool.

  5. Fifty Shades of Grey! 🙂 I have lots of friends reading that book. I can’t imagine Mrs. LeClerc reading that one!!!!!

Leave a Reply

