Bye-bye Birdie

 

Lonely Feeder

 

Cape Cod is for the birds—in fact, about 700 species of them. Mornings on the porch with Livia and our feathered friends are numbered, along with the last warm days. Bird watching is one of the many things we’ll miss about the Cape as we go south for the winter.

A group of regulars hang out at our three feeders: Titmice, sparrows, cardinals, house finches, blue jays, woodpeckers, goldfinches and nuthatches. They scatter seed onto the ground for the mourning doves, wrens, squirrels and chipmunks. The catbird, among others, bathe daily in the bird bath. It’s a busy place and never boring.

In Orleans there is a shop called, Bird Watchers General Store. They carry every item you can think of for bird watchers or bird lovers. Visits to the store have added to my leaning pile of field guides. I consult  them often in my vain effort to identify some of the brown birds, not sparrows, who frequent the feeders near the end of summer when all kinds of  migrating birds stop by. If you can’t go to the store, shop online at http://www.birdwatchersgeneralstore.com.

I dumped a bunch of clichés in this blog, now that they are out of my system, I’ll go back to work on my novel.

 

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on October 22, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Bird watchers might also enjoy the owner’s hilarious column weekly in the Cape Codder, too!

  2. Diane Ashbacher

    I know exactly how you feel. We are preparing for winter and so are the birds. We get fewer and fewer these days. Every morning I check my bird feeders in the backyard because usually they need to be refilled almost daily. Lately, the bird seed still remains within the feeder and there are no birds in sight. I miss them.

Leave a Reply

