Does Jane Erye Live on?

If you love Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë as I do, wouldn’t you love to see her come alive again? Jane Eyre is one of my absolute favorite novels. Every so often, I read it again with the same pleasure I had the first time. I loved the last movie version, too. So, if you are mutually enamored of the novel, there is a new series called the Jane Eyre Chronicles. The first novel has just been published by Berkley Prime Crime. Jane is a sleuth! The novel is: Death of a Schoolgirl by Joanna Campbell Slan, www.joanna-campbell-slan.com.

I recently attended an author event and met Joanna. She was a delightful speaker and she appeared in attire reminiscent of the period, 1820, when Jane met Mr. Rochester. I bought the novel but I have an issue, well, two. One is time, like every writer, there’s never enough. Death of a Schoolgirl is precariously perched on my bedside table, waiting its turn to be read. The bigger issue is: Was Joanne Campbell Slan able to recreate Jane? The real saucy, stubborn, righteous Jane? I bet Joanna did. She talked about the impact the book had on her own difficult childhood. It encouraged her to get educated and opened a world of possibilities to living a different way.

Does Jane live on?

I have to come clean. I read the preface and I’m very excited! I think I’m going to love this book.

Happy Thanksgiving everyone. Take some time out and read a good book! If you read Joanna’s novel, please let me know what you think.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on November 19, 2012, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Hi! I too am a Jane Eyre lover–you could say, a Jane Eyre maniac. I especially liked Joanna Campbell Slan’s treatment of London in her book–it’s a minor element in a sense, but she evoked it so beautifully it sticks in my mind. I also think it’s fun to see what Jane gets up to after she marries Mr. Rochester and has their first son.

    I got to interview her for Vero Beach 32963, so I know she has a second book in the series coming out–“Death of a Dowager,” I believe, out sometime in spring/early summer 2013. I’m sure the details are on her website: http://www.joanna-campbell-slan.com/

  1. Pingback: Jane Eyrror « cricketmuse

  2. Pingback: SimplyMoi's

Leave a Reply

