Cook the Books

A novel casserole

A novel casserole

 

Writing a novel is like cooking a casserole. Except one you do sitting down and the other you eat. But, the methods are similar.
First you chose your principal player: beef, chicken, fish. (I don’t have a vegetarian recipe). Next, you’re going to add items to enhance the meat. Some for contrast, maybe chili peppers. To make a balanced meal, read novel, you need to introduce some other food groups: a starch, a colorful veggie or two. Herbs add enhancing, subtle flavor, though you may not see them in the dish.
Now, a very important step: Add heat! Without heat, nothing will happen. Heat makes the flavors and textures meld, so a good sauce forms. When you open the lid of the cooked casserole, the aroma will make your mouth water so you can’t wait to dig in. It’s the same response you aim for in your novel.
But company’s coming for dinner. Now you need to clean up the house, edit; set the table, platform; buy a dessert. (I guess you could make one, but I’m tired of cooking already.)
This casserole recipe will help you write your novel, if you’re so inclined. Your characters are your main meat, you add in setting, plot, theme. Before you can serve the novel to the public, you revise, revise, revise, think tasting and adjusting flavors. When your book is ready, you serve it on your platform. By reading this blog, you are supporting my own platform. And I thank you very much!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on January 14, 2013, in On Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. You always make everything you write so interesting and it just compells you to read on!

  2. Can’t wait to see your final casserole. Just remember if you add too many ingredients the whole flavor of the original casserole is lost. I can’t wait to get a taste.

  3. Brilliant comparison, Gerri!

  4. A vegetarian casserole is like writing a self-help book 🙂

  5. LOL! Julia Childs, move over! This blog made me laugh out loud! (Just be sure you’re not making my husband’s clan’s “icky quicky”–with Spam and corn–literally!)

Leave a Reply

