Story Bite

“You never told me Sophie wasn’t my child. You let me spend ten years caring for someone else’s child.”
“I’m sorry. I didn’t lie to you. I never said she was yours.”
“Come on. This is the ultimate no-lie zone.”
“You’re right. I should have been honest with you. I tried to be a good wife, though.”
“You were married twice after me. Divorced in between. How did you end up here?”
“God gave me three children and no money. I did what I could to raise them.” Funny how you can discuss sensitive things with no negativity here. This is heaven.

Do you “get” it?

I enjoy flash fiction, or short short stories, or micro fiction. In this case, maybe micro-dot fiction. It’s fun to tell a story with so few words. Sort of fits the times we live in. I could fit this one into a Tweet, it’s under 140 words.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on February 25, 2013, in On Writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Flash Fiction is a difficult yet wondrous art form when it comes to writing. To get a whole story within a given word count of under 1,000 words is definitely challenging! You did it within Tweet space–tight writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

