About April

Spring - Summer 2010 159As April is National Poetry Month, I offer my whimsical rhyme:

 

April’s the month of love in Paris, and also on the Cape

The Herring leave the ocean to spawn in ponds and lakes

Coyotes and Foxes give birth to their pups

And Pat Boone’s song of April Love, as always, lifts us up.

 

The Terns and Piping Plovers return, and begin to scout for their nests

Song birds sing at the crack of dawn, and shorten our springtime rest

Rain comes down in gentle swaths to help the flowers grow

The grass turns green, and gets so long, soon it’s time to mow.

 

April in Paris is nothing compared

To willows and birches that are no longer bare

To the lilacs’ and fruit trees’ scent in the air

If you read this and can’t help but wish you were there…

You really should go!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on April 8, 2013, in On Cape Cod and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Orleans is Paris
    in April: flowers perfume
    the cool salty air.

  2. How I love spring!

  3. I’m going and looking forward to it!!!

Leave a Reply

