Musing

April 2013 004
I think this: God is not the writer of our story, He is a reader. He sympathizes with the characters, but he is unable to alter their paths.
I once read a book, When Bad Things Happen to Good People, by Rabbi Harold S. Kushner. He had a child who suffered from a disease which would lead to an early death. Like any parent in this tragic situation, he searched for answers, then he shared them. I found the book comforting and logical. It’s available on Amazon.com.
I think this: What God does for those who are suffering, is to give them strength and warm love, which comes to us as angels, human, or not.
My stories are never tragedies. I don’t write them. I don’t read them, though I know they teach us. Maybe because I’m a nurse, and have seen enough painful reality.
I am a writer. I can alter my characters’ paths. I make sure the girl gets her man. The child stays safe. And the brave law officers find the bomb before it explodes.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on April 22, 2013, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. The novelist’s ability to alter the story is indeed a gift….for some of us, a very comforting one! Of course, it’s also our job to make our characters miserable temporarily, to craft a good story. But controlling the ending–that’s priceless. Nice post!

  2. Barbara Feldman

    Well stated and so many people look for all the answers through him and they do not realize the path he wants them to take.

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Beautiful, Gerri. I share your beliefs and you have a wonderful way of explaining them….the writer in you.

  4. You are the reason I love to get lost in a good book. I do believe God has a plan that few of us will comprehend , until we pass into our next life. Like you, I believe that He lovingly sends each of us an Angel to help us along the way when the path becomes challenging, difficult, or seems unattainable. Thank you for the happy endings.

  5. I always wanted to read Kushner’s book and haven’t made the time. After reading your post, I decided it’s time. I look forward to each of your posts. What a talent you have!

  6. How beautiful, Gerri: God as reader. I’ve often heard authors say their characters lead them, not the other way around. Maybe that’s the way God operates…

  7. great submit, very informative. I wonder why the other experts of this sector
    do not understand this. You must continue your writing. I’m confident, you have a huge readers’ base
    already!

Leave a Reply

