If It’s Tuesday . . .

Oops! It is Tuesday, and I’m a day late for my every-other-Monday blog post. On any weekday lately, you’ll find me glued to my computer. I am fully immersed in a manuscript revision.
We have clouds on Cape Cod right now, and my head may appear to be in them, but my mind is laser-focused on the edit. If someone greets me saying, Hello-how-are-you, I’m wondering if there’s a comma after hello. If a biker rides by with a child in tow, I picture them in the background of one of my scenes, adding color. I can’t watch a movie without parsing all the details, and if I find an overly obvious red herring, the neighborhood can hear me pointing it out. “Ha! Gotcha!”
In a room full of people, I may suddenly disappear into my novel, discussing possible alterations with my characters. My husband has to repeat everything he says, and Livia, my muse, runs when she sees me approaching. I may have stepped on her tail in one of my fugues.
All of this is a self-serving whine about why I missed my Monday blog.
As Shakespeare says: “Devise, wit; write, pen; for I am for whole volumes in folio.”
And, so, think of me kindly. I am doing what I love. I hope you are doing the same!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on June 4, 2013, in On Writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. It is such a THRILL to keep up with u this way! GREAT!

  2. Sounds like you are right on track. This is the one 🙂

  3. Diane Ashbacher

    Hi Gerri: I am happy to hear you are at the Cape enjoying the cloudy weather as much as we are. However, we look at it as a respit from yardwork. I like your idea better. Enjoy and talk to you soon.

    • I cannot find my garden! Sad to say, the Devas are not doing their job on the weeding. I’ll keep my fingers crossed for more rain to keep you snug inside! Yes, soon.

  4. Keep it going anyway that works for you. Most of us are never really in the moment. You are there ten fold.

  5. Gerri, I know this book is a gourmet meal in the making, the cooking is done and now you are adding the final touches and lighting the candles.. We are all so anxious to sit at your table and delight in what you have set before us

  6. Is there a patron saint for writers?
    How wonderful that you are seeing the world through a writer’s eyes–at all times, even if t seems inopportune!
    Someone needs to give you that t-shirt:” careful, or I’ll put you in my novel!”

  7. Sandy Goodwin Fontana

    You know that I’m doing the same! Keep going, your writing is amazing!

  8. The other day, I referred in conversation to something that Jonah said. When I was asked who Jonah is, I had to admit that he’s a person I made up, who only exists in the 1853 of my novel in progress. Ah, the writer’s life! Keep at it, and enjoy…and think of us down here in Vero, with clouds and heat!

    • hehe! I once walked into an antique stop and got excited to see the exact chandelier I was looking for. You guessed it! The character in my novel needed one for her store! Thinking of heat–53 degrees yesterday morning!

Leave a Reply

