Gratitude

Gratitude – July 1, 2013 Blog

I’m still in ditz mode as I revise my novel. I finished the first draft of the revision and am now in editing mode. It occurred to me as I read through, how much the support of my family and friends helped make this book possible. I thought about how long my list of acknowledgements would have to be.
Agents advise writers not to say their mother loves their book when they send in a query letter. But my Mom is a reader, and so smart, I depend on her. She’s found every novel I have written is perfect. My sisters and sisters-in-law also read and critique for me, and love my books. My children support me by reading and suggesting lists of things I could buy with my successes. 🙂 I have a great group of friends who give me gifts, like author coffee mugs, a writer’s little tablet, beautiful journals, pen boxes, bookends, and book covers. Many of my family and friends were my first readers. Without their encouragement, I’d never be revising my fourth novel. I’ve worked with a wonderful teacher who has given so much of herself for my benefit; my beta reader who has supported me from the first novel on; my new critique partner who has made herself indispensable to my writing. All of the agents and editors and authors, who give the classes at conferences to help other writers achieve their dreams, are part of the mix. All of the people who read or comment or follow this blog are unselfishly helping me build my platform.
Then there is my hubby. At first, he missed me when I became a fixture in front of a computer. He picked up the slack in house duties, got up and cooked a meal if I didn’t show up to do it myself. He helps me brainstorm, edits my blogs, holds my hand when a rejection letter comes, celebrates the good news. He’s my biggest fan—no, he doesn’t read my books, and we agree that’s a good thing. He hears me answer the same question—my favorite: How’s the writing going?—over and over. He is my love and my best friend.
What other creative work starts or ends with a thank you note? Every book has a list of acknowledgements. A painting is signed, and the artist has a bio, but no acknowledgements on the piece. My friend does amazing assemblage art pieces that are filled with spiritual overtones. She signs her work, but without acknowledgements. An architect or construction company’s signature is on a sign in the yard. But a writer only signs her work when people come to see her and buy her book.
Only writers have thank you notes. This is one from me to everyone who has helped me live my dream.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on July 1, 2013, in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Gerri,
    You made Gerrie’s day. It is great you have so much support from friends and family. It is also great your books are so interesting and well written. Congratulations!
    BB

  2. You are an inspiration!

  3. my life changed once I started becoming thankful for everything I had

  4. A novel!!!!!!!!!!! May you be blessed with a continuing flow of rewarding thoughts!

  5. Sandy Goodwin Fontana

    I’m Gerri’s critique partner (thank you for your generous praise, Gerri.) People: You are going to love Gerri’s current novel when it’s published. Full of intrigue, richly-drawn characters and a great plot. It’s a page turner, for sure!

  6. Congratulations dear sister 🙂

  7. Thank you, Michael, my new friend!

Leave a Reply

