Biking and Hiking on Cape Cod

Entrance to Nickerson State Park

Entrance to Nickerson State Park

Both Spring and Fall come late to the Cape. Spring is usually gray and damp, but fall is spectacular. The air becomes crisp and the sun shines in an extra-blue sky. The seas that surround the Cape sparkle and dance to the light autumn breezes.
Writers sit. And sit and sit. Not just working on our poems, novels, or memoirs, but also on our platforms, using social networking, writing our blogs (ahem), and doing our give-backs, as in contest judging. I won’t mention the long web researches or studying agents and publishers. Well, I just did, but you can see by the title of this blog, that’s not the subject of today’s missive.
It’s because of the potential for “writer’s butt” that hiking and biking are the subject. Cape Cod has trails of all lengths and strengths from one end of the island to the other.
Province Lands Bike Trail in Provincetown wanders through forests, past ponds and marshes. It’s five miles long with often challenging hills and dunes, ending at Herring Cove Beach and Race Point Beach. A shorter but equally exceptional ride is The Shining Sea Trail. This hilly trail follows the old Penn Central Railroad from Falmouth to Woods Hole. It often rides along the Nantucket and Vineyard Sounds providing brilliant views of the water. (I once nearly landed in a creek full of alligators while riding my bike along a paved road in Everglades National Park. Just a warning not to be too taken in by the views on the Cape trails.)
Nickerson State Park in Brewster has both biking and walking trails. If you love birding, you’ll enjoy this trip. Rangers give guided tours about the wildlife and habitats in the park.
The pilgrims first tasted New England water in Truro. You can visit that place by following The Pilgrim Spring Trail.
There are a multitude of trails I haven’t mentioned here, and information on every one is available all over the Cape. Hubby and I try new trails each fall, mostly walking, given my biking skills.
My beach novel is tucked away in the beach tote to finish next season; the sand sitters are hanging on hooks in the shed. Wooly throws now replace cotton beach towels, and down comforters are airing. I will steal days away from my computer to get some Cape Cod exercise, the most enjoyable kind.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on September 23, 2013, in On Cape Cod, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. GERRI-your description of Cape Cod makes me want to pack up and go hiking with you!

    • Come on up! It is the best time of the year here–after summer. No, after spring when all the flowers come up. Uh, you can come anytime except winter! Thanks for dropping by and commenting! Gerri

  2. You paint such a poetic picture of your surroundings. If you suffer a little writers butt, it’s only because it is so difficult to pull away when you are creating such beauty with words alone. There is beauty to be personally experienced too, so I have found my three layer parka and the walking poles I brought back from the Lake District. Will you be there next week?

    • You couldn’t tear me away from here! Thank you for the sweet compliments. It’s easy to write about the beauty here because there’s magic on the Cape. Bring your poles! Thank you for visiting and the lovely comment. Gerri

  3. I also try to battle Writers-Butt with long walks. Then, I don’t feel so much like writing…there has to be a compromise, somewhere!

    • Ha! I walk to and from the kitchen! I did decide to get my writer’s butt out of the chair and take a good walk outside. I even did it twice! Thanks for commenting! Gerri

Leave a Reply

