Gift for a Writer

Flip Dictionary

Flip Dictionary

I had a sign on my writing desk for months: Flip Dictionary, Buy when rich! An author of a series of mysteries told me about this book at a writer’s conference I attended. It’s a little pricey, but it’s worth it! It’s more of a thesaurus than a dictionary, but not like any thesaurus you’ve used before. I want to say it’s like a thesaurus on steroids, but I would be using a cliché, and writers need a book like this one to avoid the same old words. It’s a research tome, or the written internet.
Besides finding words for huge like behemoth, do you want to know the name of every bone in your body? How about the name of every kind of clergy, fruit tree, herb? Rivers or rocks? Baseball or basketball terms? Here’s one: men’s events in summer Olympics. All of it is in alphabetical order and right at your fingertips.
My copy of this behemoth is 693 pages; it was published by Writer’s Digest Books and copyrighted in 2000. I bought mine used on Amazon, and it was in great condition. There are newer versions with, I’m sure, even more pages!
Barbara Ann Kipfer, Ph.D. is the author of Flip Dictionary (For when you know what you want to say but can’t think of the word). She has penned an impressive forty-five books and has three Ph.D.s plus other degrees.
If you need a gift this season for a writer you love, buy this book for them. They will love you back!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on December 2, 2013, in On Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Always enjoy your posts Gerri! Sold the business, Bill retired and we moved to Phoenix this fall. Bought a house about twenty minutes from Erin. Erin has two little ones now and it is wonderful being able to spend time with them! Hello to Ron! Barbara

  2. Gerri,
    I actually saw that note on your desk and was planning to buy the book for you for Christmas, oh well. Now you get sox, maybe red. If this book really finds the words I’m trying to say, I want two copies, in case I can’t remember where I left the one, I’ll have the other. Senility, take that !!!!!!
    Have a great Christmas and New Year and Happy Birthday too, in case I forget!
    Blog on !!! I love them all and you too !!!!!
    Joni

  3. Dictionaries are not a cuddle read, yet they do enliven our writing. Great tip!

Leave a Reply

