Season’s Fleeting

1213 Christmas 012

The holidays are a microcosm of the Yin and the Yang of life. At least for me. The season starts with Thanksgiving, one of my favorite holidays. Great food, family and friends, no gifts to buy. This year, one of my friends (now my BFF) insisted on bringing the turkey, stuffing, and gravy to our house. One of the best Thanksgivings ever. But, as I open the pre-made mashed potatoes, the little nag in my head starts: time to get the Christmas letter written; time to buy the cards; time to gather the pictures; time to buy the gifts; time to bake the biscotti. . . .
The day after we overeat turkey, the marathon begins. Everything must be done before we leave for the holiday visit with family. No time for writing the novel, or even thinking about the next book. Forget chatting up the forums; forget attending the meetings. Put the writing magazines aside for later. Save the queries for January.
I miss writing and all its associated activities, the Yin. But I love when the holiday chores are finished and there is only the unwrapping and the eating, and eating, and eating, the Yang. Mailing the cards with letters and pictures, the Yin. Reading the cards and letters from others, the Yang. Eating the wonderful foods of the season, the Yin. Starting the diet on January second, the Yang.
It’s the time of the year where the contrasts are the most obvious to me. After it’s all over and I’ve partied in the New Year, I’ll look back with a sense of accomplishment, and look forward to a new beginning.
Hope your holidays were filled with family, friends, food, and fun.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on December 30, 2013, in Issues of Interest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That say’s it all. Very good…
    We are getting our dune refilled as we speak. Yea!
    See you tomorrow. The eating plan is not firmed yet.
    BB

  2. Hi Gerri, thanks for visiting my blog at http://gottafindahome.wordpress.com. Congratulations on writing four novels. All the best for 2014.

  3. Isn’t it true: hearing from your long-lost friends and family and catching up on their news through the holidays, that’s worth setting aside some time for. I try to write a note in all my Christmas cards because I so enjoy seeing notes in the ones I receive.
    Glad you’ve had the holidays to enjoy: your writer’s brain has been “recording” all along, so you’ll soon be back at the computer with lots of new ideas!

Leave a Reply

