Fragility

As you can tell from the name of my blog, I love Cape Cod and I cherish the time I am able to spend there.
Cape Cod was formed when glaciers melted and dropped granite rocks along the coast. Nature took over and covered the rocks with sand brought by the ocean currents. Flora grew to hold it all together. But the Cape is fragile. Nature can take it away in the same manner as it was formed.
Scientists tell us all things in the universe are made up of stardust. We humans are made up from the same elements as our planet, which will someday explode into stardust again. Everything is fragile.
Stories have been around since humans began life on earth. They were told, painted in caves, then written and printed. We read stories about things we fear could happen, and how we might survive them, either physically or emotionally. A story helps us practice for when hard things happen to us.
When someone you love lingers at the final threshold, those stories may help make our suffering a tiny bit better.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on February 24, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. I knew this was coming……………it was only a matter of time and choice of words. WONDERFUL my sister! Stardust INDEED! ❤

  2. :(((
    Nicely put.

  3. Dear Gerri….safe journey….all the best, Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

Leave a Reply

