Winter Weary

Snowdrops picture courtesy of L. Brady

Snowdrops picture courtesy of L. Brady

It seems, on St. Patrick’s Day, a good time to write about green. In many areas, mid-March heralds the last breath of winter. This year the Northeast has endured a cold and snowy winter, and everyone’s thinking green, the lime shade of budding tree leaves and new grass shoots. Neither of which are really green. Grass and leaves absorb the colors of red and blue, but reflect the color green, which is what we see. Same with frogs—not green. They are a lovely chemical blue with a yellow outer layer, which makes them look green. But I digress. Spring greening comes right after snowdrop sightings; right before flowering fruit trees bloom. Green comes between yellow (forsythia) and blue (hydrangea) in the continuum of visible light. It is the color of newness: greenhorn, green cheese. On the flip side, green is the color of nausea, of jealousy, of dragons.
Nature is about to burst forth in brilliant shades of green. It is a time of rebirth, new hope, expectations. It all becomes official this Thursday, March twentieth. For today, wear something green, drink a green beer, eat cabbage, and kiss an Irishman. Spring is on the way!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on March 17, 2014, in Issues of Interest and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Dennie Costello

    Great literary visual for St. Patty’s Day! Loved it! ❤

  2. I really enjoyed the way you played with green. I have to confess I fled Massachusetts for Florida in December so I haven’t lacked for green all winter. Still, watching the news and talking to relatives up there has given me a persistent white frozen feeling about my home. I will return in a couple of weeks, in time to love me some of those Spring “greens.”

  3. First daffodil on Rock Harbor Rd. spotted! The lawn full of purple crocuses on 6A in Dennis should have inspired “friends,” but not so far here…A day of sunshine now and again gives us hope that more will soon turn green. We are weary of the golds and browns we’ve been seeing since November!

  4. Loved this …..

Leave a Reply

