Take Me Out to the. . . .

Pedroia Warming Up

Pedroia Warming Up

I was lucky enough to go to the last spring training game of the season: Red Sox vs. the Twins. Thanks to our great friends! I admit it, I’m a huge Red Sox fan. I love the sound of a baseball game on TV. It means summer, leisure, no school. It reminds me of my Dad. He kept the Phillies game on while he mowed the lawn, coming in for a cold beer, and standing before the set while he cooled off.
In my first writing class, the instructor tasked us to write about sports. It was summer and my husband—a long-term Red Sox fan—was watching the game. I sat beside him, waiting for inspiration. Words like slow, spit, and boring went through my mind. And then I noticed the superstitious routines each player displayed in the batter’s box. I saw the characters, and that’s what I wrote about. It was one of my first pieces, before I even knew what passive voice was.
Since then I’ve learned more and more about the strategy of the game, the personalities of the players. I’m a groupie, a member of Red Sox Nation, I yell at the TV. And look, I’m still writing about the team. Go Sox!

Cape Cod has everything, including a whole summer of baseball! Check it out at: http://www.capecodbaseball.org

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on March 31, 2014, in Issues of Interest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Dennie Costello

    I remember daddy doing that exact thing! LOL Brought back a great memory. Thanks! I imagine you wearing all your Sox gear while watching a game, but I thought I was the only one screamin’ at the TV during games. Welcome aboard my sister…………be loud and be proud!!! LOL

  2. There’s nothing like a live game, is there? Although I’m not yet officially “Red Sox Nation,” I admired the way the team went all out to support the city during its trials last spring.
    Sports and dads: they were the old school tradition, huh? (for my dad, it was NY Giants football: I still remember the name Y.A. Tittle, though heaven knows what position he played!
    Sure sign of spring once the home opener is played!

  3. Diane Ashbacher

    It was a great day for all of us. Enjoyed spending it with you guys. Love you both

Leave a Reply

