Stunned

Livia's Little Hurt Bird

Livia’s Little Hurt Bird

1-23-14 012

The ears in one of the pictures belong to my muse, Livia. She’s a princess cat who lives with us. She stays indoors and watches the world through windows. At the Cape, she watches the birds on the feeder as if they are performing in the best feline movie ever filmed. But recently, she had a close encounter.
The little bird in the picture stunned herself by flying into the slider window. We ran when we heard the thump. It took a minute to see her, huddled down in her feathers with her eyes closed. We knew how hard she’d hit, so we worried she was badly injured. Livia was fascinated. She’d never been so close to a feathered friend before, only a pane of glass between them. The bird was cute and finch-like, but with a different beak. We couldn’t identify her (or him). Can you?
We’ve all had life events that stun us. How many of us rush in to make things better? How many times do our quick fixes make things worse? In our busy, hectic lives, how often do we take time to evaluate before we act?
The little bird remained still, barely breathing for a long time. Long enough that we moved on to other things—except Livia—and ran back and forth to see if the bird was still there. I like to think Livia communicated with the hurt bird, stood by her until she regained her footing and wing power. Sure enough, the bird was gone one of the times we went back to check. Livia walked around with her tail high and a smug expression. I think she took credit for helping the bird fly away, and I think maybe she deserved to.
The moral of this blog isn’t to hesitate to make decisions after life stuns you—though, I think that’s good advice. The moral is: If a bird is stunned by flying into your window, have a kitty help her out.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on May 12, 2014, in Issues of Interest, On Cape Cod and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Gerri….this one’s really close to my heart, and I have a much-too-long story to tell you. Let’s share the telling of a couple of these special moments over dinner. XX Anita

  2. This looks to me to be a female Yellow-rumped Warbler (formerly Myrtle Warbler).

    • Maia, thanks for the info. I think you are exactly right. I looked it up online and it’s very similar. I must add it my bird list!

  3. This is the cutest bird and kitty story I ever read. It is written by the most talented writer I ever read!

  4. I’ve never seen a bird this color before. So cute and chubby-lookin’! :oD

    • I hadn’t either. She was part of a migrating group, I think. Haven’t seen one since. But now I know she was a Yellow-rumped Warbler. Now you know, too! Thanks for the comment! Gerri

  5. Wow. I hope it was eventually ok. Poor thing.

  6. What a beautiful little bird…and a beautiful little story!

  7. Diane Ashbacher

    I checked my bird book and could not find a look-alike, What a nice story. Miss you guys.

    • Miss you, too! Look under Yellow-rumped warbler–female. Or Myrtle warbler. A reader identified her and I looked her up–that’s her! Talk soon. Thanks for commenting!

  8. Louise Brady

    LOL! But also poignant: isn’t it true how we feel we *must* react, when all we need to do is first, breathe…

Leave a Reply

