Do You Believe in Ghosts?

RIP

RIP

Recently, we had a crowd in our Cape Cod cottage. We sat in a circle of furniture borrowed from every room. My teenage granddaughter sat beside her mom. She is an intelligent, athletic, quiet girl, who is not fanciful. (Just adorable, beautiful, sweet…oops!) So, that night, when she told her mother she’d seen a ghost, we all believed her. While everyone was chatting across the circle, my granddaughter saw a woman, wearing a full-length yellow dress with long sleeves, leaning out the kitchen doorway, watching us. Her hair was pulled back, but her face was shadowed.
My granddaughter wasn’t afraid. She seems to attract spirits. They appear in pictures as a hovering smoky white presences. She’s seen a young boy who wasn’t there, and once heard something in her closet whistling “Ring around the Rosie” while she played with her dolls.
The evening after the lady in the yellow dress appeared, we sat around the dining room table with another large group of friends and family. The discussion turned to the ghost. And then, everyone had a story to tell. Do you?

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on July 1, 2014, in Issues of Interest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Cathy Macintosh

    Hi Gerri,

    No ghost stories…….as yet……but who knows!!!!

    Hope you are well.
    All the best, Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • Thanks for visiting my blog! We’re doing great, enjoying gorgeous cool and sunny weather. Hope you do see a ghost some day–it was great fun!

  2. I have more than a few “ghost stories.” perhaps enough for an entire book, one day.

  3. marybrotherton

    Oh, my! Do I ever have a few stories! Your granddaughter is fortunate to see these spirits.

  4. Hi my friend! Can you share one story? Love to hear it! Thanks for the comments! Gerri

  5. Reblogged this on DUNKELROT and commented:
    Do I believe in ghosts?

Leave a Reply

