Livia Loves Catnip

Ms. Livie

Ms. Livie

I put a little catnip
In a planter on the deck
If Livia doesn’t like it
I figured, what the heck.

It’s a pretty little plant
With notches on its leaves
It’ll keep my basil company
Blowing in the breeze.

I watch the leaves atremble
As Livia makes her approach
She pulls and chews the little leaves
It’s hard to watch without reproach.

I wonder if it pains the plant
And if it hurts a lot
I’m going to move the catnip
To a private little pot!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on August 25, 2014, in Issues of Interest. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Cathy Macintosh

    Hi Gerri,

    So sweet…an observant of you….Livia has a nice Mom.

    When do you return to Vero? Should be fun getting settled into your new abode. Your area is so convenient. Look forward to meeting for lunch at one of the cute restaurants in that area…or tennis here. I am not playing bridge on Wednesday afternoon, so could play tennis on Wednesday. Don’t know when Gerry Douglas returns…not in contact with her.

    All the best, Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Gerrie Costello

    tHAT IS SO ADORABLE ,gERRI……yOU SURE HAVE TALENT ! i LOVE YOU mOM

  3. EXCELLENT!!! first the novels and now the poetry. Please submit this……..somewhere ……and you will give folks a lot of pleasure/ smiles.

  4. Not only a great writer but also quite a great poet!

Leave a Reply

