To Change or not to Change

Cape Cod beach

Cape Cod beach

It would have been better to blog on Labor Day, but we were too busy laboring to move all our stuff into a new house on Cape Cod. Who said change is good? I say, change is hard. Here’s what Alan Wilson Watts, a British-born philosopher, writer, and speaker says about change:
“The only way to make sense out of change is to plunge into it, move with it, and join the dance.”
As a writer, one of the first things I learned was that your character must change, or there is no story. The change can be growth, acceptance of something, divorce or marriage, death. But a story about a character who remains the same, is not a story.
My husband probably has a million change quotes. He thrives on it; moving is a hobby for him. My heel marks are all over the US, as we’ve moved hither and yon with his career. Each time we ventured into a new place, I yanked up roots and reluctantly accepted defeat. Yet, each time we settled in, I knew the change broadened my life experience and forced me to grow.
My deepest roots are here on Cape Cod. It is the magic place for me. I love to live and write here. It’s always an inspiration. So, this time, no heel marks. I’m dancing, and I wonder who I will become with this new change.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on September 8, 2014, in On Cape Cod, On Writing. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Gerri, I agree. Once you find your home ground, the change is less challenging and more fulfilling. It’s good to know you are home!

  2. Barbara Ulbrandt

    Another move? Wow! Did you sell your Florida house?

  3. I love what you wrote. Makes me want to move but I would miss you all too much!

  4. Change brought us together, after all! Dance and enjoy the beautiful Cape!

Leave a Reply

