Gone Girl: A Novel. Let’s Talk

Gone Girl: A Novel on Kindle

Gone Girl: A Novel on Kindle

Let me start by saying how great I think the book is. As a writer, I mean. The way the surprises emerge, stealthily, sneakily, is quite brilliant. The premise is quite brilliant. Not contrived, and slightly unbelievable, but addictive. Once you get past the beginning.
Gone Girl broke rules, and no agent would take on this book, except that it was brilliant. I read for a while before I realized I didn’t like either of the main characters. I couldn’t relate to them, couldn’t sympathize with them, and in time, I actively disliked them. Rule-breaker. But when a book grabs your interest and hooks you, it can be a grand success, even if it breaks the rules—or maybe because it breaks the rules.
Now, the ending. One friend told me she thought it was a love story. I sure didn’t think that . . . but then, was it? An unhealthy love? Or was it a case of psychotic codependence? Or was is about a parent’s protective instinct?
The end of the book made me mad. I felt frustrated, and if I had Gillian Flynn’s phone number, I would have called her and asked a dozen questions. And tell her I think she’s brilliant.
This book is an author’s dream. It’s provocative and stimulates conversation.
So, if you read the book, please tell me what you think about it. Even if you only saw the movie, because it was very close to the novel, you can join in.
Gillian Flynn currently has another best seller on the New York Times list, Dark Places. Will you read it? Darn it, I will!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on November 10, 2014, in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Totally agree with your comments…..am reading Dark Places right now! Love Gillian Flynn – hope you and Ron are well and happy!

  2. Hi Gerri,

    Our book club on Shelter Island read it…….most found it a terrific read….some disgusting….road to moral collapse for sure!……did see the movie……didn’t like the graphic sex scenes. Book really was a thriller for me.

    Just finished JJ Moyes The Girl You Left Behind…..such a good read….really enjoyed this book.
    All the best, Cathy

    Sent from my iPad

  3. Barbara Ulbrandt

    Absolutely HATED the book (didn’t finish it) and have no intention of seeing the movie. Just yuck! Your take on the book was really interesting though.

    • Oh no, you have to read the ending! And the middle where all the twists begin. But I have to know what you think the ending is all about! Thanks for the comment, now finish the book! Gerri

  4. OMG, I just made 100 followers! Thank all of you for being interested in my muses and taking the trouble to follow my blog. I am so grateful to you all. Gerri

  5. Haven’t read the book yet….trying to make time for it….several friends have done so and to a gal they have all said….just get to the middle…..jump there if you must…..but do yourself a favor and DO IT. That’s enticement of the tallest order !!!

    Love your Blog, Gerri.

Leave a Reply

