I Double Dare You!

Mosaic in the Sacred Space

Mosaic in the Sacred Space

About a week ago, I had an experience, so spiritually overwhelming, I am still glowing. Here’s what happened:
My husband and I saw Steve Carell on TV, speaking about the store he rescued in Marshfield, Massachusetts. An old general store he purchased and renewed. We were headed north to visit family, and pulled off the highway to visit the store. It’s charming. While we were there, we decided to try to find a friend we hadn’t seen in years. We knew she had a farm in the same area.
A long time ago, we lived in Scituate, MA, and had the best good fortune to be next door neighbors to Donna Green and her beautiful family. Donna is a collected artist and illustrator. She paints detailed, heartwarming scenes evoking the best of our human nature, especially children.
We visited Donna in her studio about ten years ago, only to find she was ill—with what she now knows was Lyme disease—and lived in pain and fatigue. She couldn’t even paint. This time when we reunited, Donna was healthy. She told us she fought back, but I know differently, saints have healing powers.
As I writer, I wish I had the words to express the miracle Donna has created from the debris of her own illness, but I don’t. What I can do is show you. If you want to be uplifted and amazed by human generosity, please visit her website: http://www.magicalmoon.org. Donna turned her adversity to a challenge. Her farm has been turned into a magical kingdom for children with terminal cancer. Donna has these kids involved in projects and make-believe so potent, they are able to forget their cancer for a while. The picture of the dragon above is part of a mosaic Donna created in her sacred space, which is the foyer to her farmhouse, and was constructed with some of the “knights” who come to the farm. I promise, you will be amazed and uplifted when you visit the website. Travel around it, see the kids being knighted, see Steven Tyler making a roomful of kids and adults at a fundraiser sing at the top of their lungs. Watch him seduce the kids to the microphone and don’t worry about the tears that will spill. I double dare you.
If you want something to be thankful for this Thanksgiving, beside all of your own blessings, Donna is your girl. People like her renew your faith in humanity. She is an angel, and a great advocate for her kids. Her project is ongoing. She reached out to the White House and agreed to do fourteen paintings in three weeks for Barbara Bush, IF she would help expose Donna’s foundation. It happened. Donna has eleven million books in print, paintings collected by long-time followers, work hanging in the National Archives. Her Velveteen Rabbit book is famous. But her work is the sick children, to distract them with projects or just friends and fun, and to teach the world how to prevent some of their cancers by caring about our environment.
Please do yourself a huge favor. Visit Donna’s website. And please do Donna a big favor, donate to help her kids. http://www.magicalmoon.org.
Have a delicious and heartwarming Thanksgiving.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on November 24, 2014, in Issues of Interest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. This is absolutely awesome and inspiring. What a wonderful story. What a wonderful life.
    And to see in print….”Marshfield,” and “Scituate.” Only “Humarock” was missing, but all
    three make up some of the fibers of my childhood. And Velveteen Rabbit has meaning
    for me and my much loved niece, so to make this added connection with Donna is
    a real gift for which I’m grateful this day of Thanksgiving.

    So grateful for you, too, Gerri. I thoroughly enjoy each and every one of your blogs.
    Love,
    Anita

  2. Anita, you have such a big heart! I am so happy I made a connection to your home and your niece. I am still glowing from our visit with Donna. Her work puts life in perspective. And thank you for your lovely comment about my blog! See you soon, Love, gerri

Leave a Reply

