Creativity

Photo by Renee LeClerc

Photo and art by Renee LeClerc

Gerri's Photo

Gerri’s Photo

If you study the pictures above, it will take a nanosecond to see which of us is the artist. Creativity is wholesome, healthy, individual, and diverse. It took me a long time to find my own creativity–writing. My daughter’s is almost any form of art.

My friends once sat chatting around a dinner table discussing how lucky the people with a talent to pursue are. I believe we all have a creative talent. It doesn’t have to be a financial success, it doesn’t matter if no one else appreciates it, it is all about self-fulfillment. Two of the women in the discussion felt they lacked the passion of others who were immersed in creativity. They didn’t see that improving a golf game or decorating a house was their own creativity. My husband can put together a few pieces of sea glass and make a lighthouse on a slate. My son learns new languages and studies things I don’t understand. Two other artist friends shine at local shows. One artist I know uses her talent to help children with cancer.

Most of us aren’t judged only by our success in creativity, unless it provides a living. I know as I prepare to publish my first book, which is actually my fourth novel, I am subjecting my creativity to public judgement. I’m ready, just waiting for the wheels of publishing to catch up!

What is your creative talent?

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on August 10, 2015, in On Writing, Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. When the wheels of publishing catch up to you, the world will see how creative YOU are. You are truly a gifted writer!

  2. Ur creativity was ALWAYS evident. Most aren’t so lucky. MY talent will be reading UR Best Sellers! Ur such a blessing to the writing & reading community! ❤

  3. Love those pics! would never have thought to put the stones together into footsteps, not if I looked at them for a hundred years! But I do appreciate the talent that saw that in the stones!
    I think of cooks (not just chefs, either) who take those everyday ingredients and create a meal, no matter how simple, for their loved ones, day after day (aka moms?)
    I think of writers, who take the same letters and words I know and create whole new worlds: alchemy, indeed!
    I think of all of us, who create our lives from the building blocks we were given, or had nurtured, or even found accidentally.
    And…that we are still creating those lives, no matter what our age. We’re not done yet!

    • I totally agree with you. Stones on the beach are lovely; stones arranged in art are fantastic! My daughter is a consummate artist. She sees art in everything.
      I know a special chef who loves to cook so much, he hums the whole time! 🙂
      Your words are beautiful. Poetry. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

