Writers’ Create Mode

My Dead Hydrangeas

My Dead Hydrangeas

This morning I realized these hydrangeas, which had dried to lovely hues of green, blue, and purple, were completely brown. When did that happen?
I am in creative mode. After months and months of rewrites and edits, I am writing a new book—the third and last in my Knoll Cottage series. This is the mode writers live for. As Stephen King calls it, the closed door writing.
Creative mode=absent-minded-professor. I walk into the kitchen and stand before the open door of the pantry, baffled at what I’m doing there. I drive to the supermarket, realizing when I step out of my car, I am wearing my bedroom slippers. (Writers, keep a pair of flip-flops in your car!)
I can listen to the TV news, play Spyder Solitaire on my tablet, and suddenly figure out a plot problem. “Aha!” I say to my husband, “Julia needs a PI.” If you are a writer, you know the “look” he gives me.
This wasn’t my planned blog for today. When writers are in creative mode, we aren’t the best planners. But as I write this blog, I just realized Julia’s PI must be a woman!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on August 31, 2015, in On Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. You are in a good place……creative people love the Cape….all the best! cathy

  2. Hi Gerri, I love this latest blog, it makes perfect sense to me. I agree about how we, who create, all want to be there in the zone or mode! . I am so excited that you are in the mode now and that you are writing your new book! A woman PI for Julia! Inspiration!!!!!!
    I’ve been thinking lately that I need to be working on a new piece for my next …..the Cape, isolation..water ….boats…..storms……..death…… 💡💡💡💡💡💡💡💡💡💡💡. ………. a spirit ship……maybe crossing the bay……no, the Styx…….. I could use that small antique Japanese boat with the bird on the bow…….. and the skull that Loret gave me ………… and the oxidized copper for the background…….. a small mysterious……
    Wait, what? Where was I ? Oh yah. Hi Gerri, I love this latest blog, it makes perfect sense to me!

    • You realize, dear friend, that most people won’t understand this. But I laughed hysterically! Making your own art keeps you in the same wacky Create Mode! So much of your wonderful work is beautifully spiritual. But for heaven sake, if you knew the magic of Cape Cod, you would never compare it to the River Styx. So, I offer you the chance to visit any time and I’ll guarantee you will head right into create mode and make a thing of beauty! Like you always do when you’re not kidding! xoxo

  3. How I long for that!

  4. Jeeezzzzzzzzz…………if I didn’t know better, I’d think you followed me around. I SO often get in my car and realize I’m in slippers! I will NOW tho, put a pair of ‘basic black’ flip flops in my car. Thanx for that! Also………I find myself standing in front of LOTS of doors to rooms wondering what in the WORLD was in my mind that drove me there. So often I’ll just return to my seat, but when I’m out of the house in the middle of something totally different, I’ll remember why I was going into those rooms. Too late tho, because by the time I get home I will have lost the thought. And I’m not even “creative!”

    Loved this ‘non blog’! It all sounded SO familiar! And I agree…………….the PI should be a woman! LOL

    Love you to the moon and back!
    Den

    • Are you saying my wacky state is not create mode by a genetic abnormality? hehehehe. Maybe you share the same state of weirdness because you are stiffing your own creativity. You’ve already had some of your writing published! You have had accolades for your work on stage. You have talent! Oh, btw, I made Julia a journalist so she now has to do her own search. xoxo

Leave a Reply

