Cape Cod Apple Season

Apples

Apples

Lest you think cranberries are the only thing that turn red in September on Cape Cod, so do apples, and they are early this year. If you like to pick your own, there is only one farm on the Cape where you can do that, Hawk’s Wing Farms Orchard in South Yarmouth. But you can’t this year. It’s already picked out. However, there are plenty of farmer’s markets around the Cape where you can buy fresh, crisp, varied, healthy, colorful apples.
When you bring home that fragrant bag of apples, how about making my grandmother’s famous Crisp? I’ll share:

Nana’s Apple Crisp

4 cups sliced, pared and cored cooking apples
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1/3 cup flour
2/3 cup firmly packed brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
3/4 cup oats
1/3 cup butter, melted

Place apples in a greased 8x8x2 inch pan. Sprinkle with lemon juice.
Combine flour, brown sugar, cinnamon and oats. Add melted butter. Mix until crumbly.
Bake at 375 degrees for 25 to 30 minutes or until apples are tender and top is golden brown.
Serves 5 to 6

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on September 14, 2015, in On Cape Cod and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Now I’m hungry for apples!

  2. OMIGOSH!! I can’t believe you shared Nana’s recipe!! It was SOOOOOOOOO good, wasn’t it? Always her VERY own! I’ve already made my own applesauce once this year in the crock pot, but when/if it gets cooler, I’ll be doin’ it again. Of course, I didn’t get to pick my own, but got them at one of our farmer’s markets that’s not too far from me. The house always smells SO good! As a matter of fact, it smells a lot like Nana’s. I could almost smell her house in your writing. You’re SOOOOO good!!

    Love you sister!

  3. They look like McIntosh apples…..yummy recipe…thanks for sharing…Cathy

  4. Yum! Crisp for the lovely crisp days!
    Our family’s favorite apple cake is Fannie Farmer’s Apple Kuchen (a simple, not-too-sweet batter with apples & cinnamon sugar on top), served with Mom’s Nutmeg Sauce:
    Combine 1/2 c. sugar w/ 1 Tbs. cornstarch. Gradually add 1 c. boiling water; Cook over direct heat till boiling plus 5 minute. Remove from heat and add 2 TBs. butter and 1/4 tsp. nutmeg.
    Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

