Getting My Gulls in A Row

DSCN0238

I have “Peeps”! Very special publishing peeps! I’ve taken the first steps to publish my novel, Missing Emily. Easy. . . . NOT.

Before you even start the process, you have a ton of preliminary work. Of course, you start with writing the book. It might take you a year, maybe two or three. That’s the easy part.

You have your Author photo taken. For me, on the hottest day of the year on Cape Cod. Then choose from forty-six different shots, with my family all choosing a different one. While I cringe at all of them.

Try to keep the list of acknowledgements to two pages. How many people have helped you with the first book you are about to publish? When I think I have everyone, I wake up in the middle of the night and remember another person. And another. What if I leave someone out? Won’t they all look for their names? Is it too early to apologize?

A dedication page. Who is the most special person in the world to you? Easy on the first book, perhaps. What about the next five?

An author bio. What if you’re not Jodi Picoult? She has a bio that would fill a book all by itself. What if you haven’t ever published anything before? I have to say something. Uh, I can bake a mean pork pie?

Back blurb, story description, ISBNs–one for eBook, one for print book. Copyright. Bar code?

My gulls have a few gaps, but I am on my way!

 

 

 

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on December 8, 2015, in On Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 18 Comments.

  1. All your fans are happy you got your gulls in a row! I can’t wait to read the story. Best of luck!

  2. Congratulations, Gerri! I feel like a proud Grandma!

  3. Great lil’ piece Ger……I can FEEL ur frustration! How TOTALLY fulfilling ur success will be! BRAVO sis!!

    XOXOX

  4. It sounds like you DO have your ducks, oops I mean gulls, in a row. Wonderful journey for you, Gerri. Can’t wait to see the finale! I can say, “I knew you when.”

  5. Yay! You’ve done the work, now for the excitement! Shouldn’t there be a “nursery” prepared for this occasion!

  6. Hi Gerri! Keep plugging away! My friend Rosalie did the EXACT SAME THING! I remember her having the same issues. It will work out-it’s just exhausting! You met my friend Rosalie-author of MY HEALING HEART. She was here for one of my parties way back when you were my neighbor! Can’t wait to read this book! Your other ones were fabulous!

    • So nice of you to say that! I am going to publish “our” book after the three in the Knoll Cottage series (3). That is one of my favorites. Come see out new digs! Miss you!

  7. WOW, Gerri, we are so happy for you. I can only imagine how much work it has all been for you, but after reading one of your early books, I always knew you’d get published! Best of luck and save a signed copy for us!!
    Love and the merriest of Christmases to you and Ron,
    Anne

    • I’m self-publishing with help from a dear friend and artist, Donna Green. It’s a long story I am planning to bore you with when I see you and Larry. Thank you for saying such nice things about my writing! Yes, a copy for you! Best wishes to you and Larry for a joyous holiday season! See you at our “dinner.” xoxoxo

  8. Barbara Feldman

    Yeah!!! Also some delicious braggiole.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  9. Yum. I was thinking it was time to make that again. I have to finish a book first so you must be patient. When do you go skiing?

  10. I see you have many of those birds lined up, and now I realize what that white stuff is!
    It’s time, energy and sleep consuming stuff that needs dealing with, but when it’s done, wow what a comfortable and magical feather bed you will own!
    You already know how happy I am for you and how proud I am to call you my dearest friend.

Leave a Reply

