I Resolve

Magical Moon 001

Dawn of a New Year

Fooled you. I have no resolutions for 2016. Who needs the pressure? Do we even remember as last year ends what we resolved to do, or not to do?
As I begin 2016, I am filled with enthusiasm. This year I will publish my first novel. But if I were to make a resolution as the dawn breaks on a new year, I would give up TV. Some of it. Not PBS and their wonderful murder mysteries. Not those great black and white movies from the forties. Certainly not the Red Sox games! I mean the real murders, unrest, true life catastrophes, and political hyperbole we are bombarded with every minute. Give up advertisements and those heartbreaking pleas for donations, and give to the charities dear to my heart and buy the products I chose myself.
I would turn away from television and look out the window instead. Watch the birds on the feeder; look out at the flowers and trees or snow and rain. Read a good book, or write one. Spend time with good friends. Play tennis or walk or run or ride my bike.
Are you making a resolution this year? Want to share. I say bah humbug to resolutions. What do you say? If you tell me, I will republish this blog in January of 2017, and you can see what your resolution was and tell us if you accomplished it!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on January 4, 2016, in Issues of Interest and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Can’t improve on your list! Although my pastor tried this with us yesterday, asking us to close our eyes and think of one “plan” for the new year; he then asked if anyone had included a spiritual resolution…silence… Heard recently of a church in which the brothers had been praying daily for all the centuries: now that’s a resolution! A family member in a photography club has committed himself to taking one picture a day for the year.
    Lose weight, lose angry words, and write more letters (e-mails) have been my personal go-to goals for most of my life.
    No matter what, take time to savor every day we’re given!
    Happy New Year!

  2. Middle sister…….I could have written ur ‘resolutions’ myself! They are EXACTLY mine. As u wrote, I also am giving up a LOT of TV & radio, with the exception of the works of art 4 which those forms of media were originally intended. To give my attention only 2 those who have earned it by honing (SP? LOL) their crafts 2 teach, explore, & expand our God given GOOD minds w/art! No more trash & bad news. One more resolution I have is 2 make an effort 2 actually learn something new everyday……& not 2 let that remain the cliche’ it’s become.

    Happy New Year my sister-angel. Can’t WAIT 4 the release of ur 1st book!

    XOXOXOXOXOXO

  3. Cathy Macintosh

    Sent from my iPad

    >

Leave a Reply

