On Women: Girlfriends

IMG_1231 (1)

If you are lucky enough to have girlfriends, in this case, not the romantic kind, but good female friends, you are lucky! A true girlfriend:
• Lends you her clothes or even shoes
• Goes to lunch or a movie with you
• Plays Canasta with you for hours
• Listens to your problems, with her eyes wide open, for as long as it takes; then she helps you solve them.
• Seals the grout in your new kitchen floor
• Tells you you do look fat in those pants
• Reads your first draft manuscript, and your second, and your fortieth
• Lets you win at tennis once and a while
• Can work seamlessly in the same kitchen with you
• Forgives you
• Holds you when you cry
• Stands by you when you’re in trouble
You do the same for her. In short, you love each other in a special way that’s found in no other relationship. I am lucky enough to have had much-loved girlfriends throughout my life. Relationships don’t always stand up to long distances, but there are always fond memories of your time together. Some may go bad, and those you regret.
One way I celebrate these relationships is to include girlfriends in my novels. I can’t imagine a book without one.
I hope you are lucky in your female friendships, too!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on January 18, 2016, in Issues of Interest, On Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Such lovely thoughts.

  2. Ur SO right middle sister! I even have a few long distance girlfriends who have stood the test of time. When we write or talk, it’s like ‘just yesterday’ when we last did the same thing. Ohhhhh the memories ur blog brought back. Thanx 4 that! ♡♡

    • Welcome, and thanks for your thoughts. I think old friends are wonderful. Loved my reunions. Many years past but, as you said, like it was yesterday.

  3. As I read this, one friend’s name popped up with each description on your list. You and I are very lucky indeed!

  4. Beautiful thoughts. Thanks Gerri. Lucky to call you a Girlfriend.

    • Thank you, Elaine. You are a dear old friend I treasure. No, not old, a friend I’ve had for a long time. And I do treasure our friendship. xoxoxo

  5. Amen, sister! And you know what, I think my women friends “of a certain age” bring even more added beauty to their friendships, being very calming to be around.
    “Here’s to the ladies who lunch…”!

  6. Linda Lerch DeLisio

    Hey there Gerri…. So great to see you here. As for good old friends, your sister is the best great old friend. She tracked me down thru the internet and I am grateful for her friendship over a lifetime. There is no one like an old friend.I remember you too. All my best coming at you now!

    • I remember you, too, Linda! All the good times you enjoyed with my sister. I’m so glad you two reconnected. You are right, there is no friend like an old friend! Thanks for commenting on the blog, too!!!

Leave a Reply

