WRITERS DO IT SITTING DOWN

Sit/stand desk in stand position.

Sit/stand desk in stand position.

Writers use a lot of buts, as in: She saw him approaching, but there was nowhere to hide. Her daughter was missing, but she would come back; she would! I have so much to do to get my book published, but I don’t have enough time in a day.
But the most common ways a writer uses but, is by sitting on it. As in, just get your butt in the chair and write!
It isn’t just the writing—that’s the fun part. There is also social media, Facebook, Twitter. We email requests for research, and we research all over the internet. What about online classes or webinars? Building your website takes hours in the chair then you must maintain it. We write and follow blogs. We spend time on Goodreads. And if we’re not self-publishing, we use up hours searching agent sites and preparing queries or proposals.
That is a lot of time in the saddle! The picture you see above is my new sit/stand device. It fits on the surface of my desk. I am standing while I type this blog, but I’m also doing wash. It’s neat to go back and forth without pushing back the chair, and then pulling it up again. BUT, the best benefit is you are off your BUTT! Writing is a sedentary occupation, and we all know sedentary is not good. Some people stand on a treadmill while they use their computers. I can’t walk and chew gum—love this cliché—so I just move my feet or pop up and down on my toes.
So far, I’m very happy with the change. It will burn a few extra calories, improve digestion, prevent the danger of blood clots (my nursing background always cues in), and it saves time (chair out;chair in; get up; sit down).
There are no buts about it, the ability to sit or stand while I spend hours on the computer, is a lovely option for me!

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on March 14, 2016, in On Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I have heard about these in the workplace so you are right up there keeping with the times, Gerri! You go girl!

    • If only I could make this kind of progress on my proofreading! I’m on the fourth go and I keep finding more corrections! But at least I got this desk right! Thanks for commenting!!

  2. Love it! I need one for my home!

    • There are several on Amazon. I chose one that goes on top of my desk. It’s small enough to bring back and forth between my offices. Do you want it for art? xoxoxo

  3. I’m SOOOOO glad u got the convertible desk! Every time I see the commercial 4 it, I think of u. LOVE the piece u wrote about it. It could be their BEST commercial EVER!!

    Keep on keepin’ on middle sister!!
    💋💋💋

    • Yes! It’s great. What a difference. I remember how I used to long to SIT when I worked as a hospital nurse. Now I love standing, though I can drop to a sitting position to rest occasionally. Thanks for commenting, my best fan!!

Leave a Reply

