You Self-Published. Now What?

Steps to Success?

Steps to Success?

Someone gave you a fabulous book launch party. You have some book sales under your belt. You have a handful of reviews that are stellar. Now What?
The research I’ve done boils down to one thing: Get your book reviewed. A lot. A variety of ways to do that include book bloggers; free book for review exchanges; and reviews for a price. And for me: begging my friends or readers to get back on Amazon and review my book, Missing Emily.
My first experience with book reviews was the 2010 Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award contest. My book, still pre -published, made it to the semi-finals. Some ten thousand books were entered in that contest. My entry was well-reviewed. Many of the reviews were great, but others pointed out my amateur mistakes. I was amazed at how many reviewers Amazon had on hand to do the job. Where the heck are they now?
Self-publishing is huge. Some Indie books are ready, some not. Sites like Goodreads gives authors a place to post their book. Goodreads is mainly for readers and it’s a great program. But there are many authors posting their book every month. How to stand out in the crowd is still a mystery to me.
I have been contacted on Twitter by several entrepreneurs who have a cottage industry helping authors market. You can purchase Twitter blasts for you book. Facebook will help you by boosting your author page, for a price.
Here’s my problem. (Disclosure: I believe in angels and garden divas.) I would love my book to be reviewed by people who searched for a women’s fiction novel, who loved the cover, who loved the story. I would love those people to say so on Twitter and Facebook, but especially, on my Amazon book page.
Millions of books are being published each year. The odds are tough. But am I discouraged? Not! I just purchased two books published on Amazon that are going to tell me exactly how to reach my sales goals! I hope . . .

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on May 16, 2016, in On Writing, Publishing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

