That Darn Back Blurb

Aarrrgh!

Aarrrgh!

So you’ve written nearly 100,000 words. You’ve revised the manuscript 100 times. You’ve had 20 people read for you, then you revised it 50 more times. It’s perfect! It’s ready!
All you have to do is write down the 100,000 words to about 250 or less and slap it on the back of your book.
I struggled for hours yesterday and came up with a bunch of words that convinced me no one would ever read Silent Grace. Yuck!
Thank God for the internet! Today, I visited two websites: http://www.blurb.com, (who knew blurb would have its own website!) and http://www.digitalbookworld.com. Thank you to all the folks who bring writers such terrific information on the web. I highly recommend both of these sites if you’re struggling with your own blurb. No charge, just have at it and go back to work. I did. I rewrote the blurb based on the data I mined from the two sites. I am so much happier and confident it will intrigue readers.
Next, I send it off to my trusted and capable critique partner. If she likes it, it’s a go. And Silent Grace is one step closer to publication.

About Gerri

I'm in my second career. Besides raising my beautiful family, worked as RN. Now I'm a novelist. Have completed five novels and working on my sixth. Way more fun than nursing! Happy hubby and neurotic cat hang out with me.

Posted on September 19, 2016, in Book Marketing, On Writing, Publishing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. The people who read Missing Emily don’t need the blurb. They’ll know Saving Grace will be a terrific read!

  2. Such good news. I can not wait to read it.?

  3. You go girl !!!!! When can I schedule your next book launch party? I can’t wait to see the stack of autographed copies of “.Silent Grace ” go out the door along with so many smiling Gerri LeClerc book readers and some soon to be new fans!

Leave a Reply

